Temporary suspension of EU shipping, view details here.

The five orders of architecture, 1745.

The five orders of architecture, 1745.
3 0 c m
actual image size: 32cm x 22cm


Engraving showing the five clasical types of pillar: Tuscan, Doric, Ionic, Roman or Composite, and Corinthian. The capital of the Composite pillar combines the Ionic volute or 'ram's horn', and the Corinthian acanthus leaves. Illustration from 'Mathematischer Atlas' (Mathematical atlas) by Tobias Mayer (1723-1762) published in Augsburg in 1745. Each plate has descriptive text on either side; some have contemporary hand colouring. Mayer was heavily influenced by Christian von Wolff's work, through which he had taught himself mathematics. The plates duplicate Wolff's choice of subjects - arithmetic, geometry, trigonometry, astronomy, geography, chronology, gnomonics, fortification, artillery, civil architecture, optics and mechanics.

Image Details

Image Ref.

© Science Museum / Science & Society Picture Library

buy a print

Select size
Select finish
How many prints?

buy a framed print

buy a canvas

buy a framed canvas